Author Topic: Successful: WASTE-connection in I2P network  (Read 12335 times)

Offline Nemo

• Global Moderator
  • Elite
    • View Profile
Successful: WASTE-connection in I2P network
« on: May 18, 2005, 06:00:47 PM »
I tested a connection between a WASTE server and a WASTE client over the I2P network. It IS possible to use this collaboration tool over I2P as assumed in the german WASTE forum on Planetpeer. That means that a closed user group (everybody trust each other) could establish their private WASTE network over I2P and nobody else can see this network.  8)

Some problems in my little test (a wider test is needed with more WASTE users and an I2P expert...):
-I rarely start/test I2P
-I'm not a WASTE expert
-I used only one PC for this test
-two WASTE Clients can't run on one Windows box at the same time, so I run a WASTE server and a WASTE client on the same machine
-I don't know how to generate an own destination keypair in I2P, so I used the keypair from my local eepsite (this one is generated without interaction)

Ok, here we start. I wont explain everything in detail, so I hope you get the idea how to test it yourself.  :-\

1] Installation:I installed the newest I2P version and the newest WASTE version. For WASTE I took "waste-setup-1.5-beta-3-full-eng.exe" and installed it as usual. I didn't run it now, because I want to duplicate this fresh installation in step 2.

2] Second WASTE node (WASTE server in my case): I copied the WASTE client program folder and added "-server" into the folder's name. I downloaded the single EXE file called "WASTESrv.exe" (look in "waste-server-windows-1.5-beta-2.zip") into this new folder.

Other possibility: Install WASTE client again in another folder and copy the server into this fresh installation folder.