Author Topic: Is the MUTE network going to die?  (Read 11171 times)

Offline Markus

• Administrator
  • Elite
    • View Profile
    • http://www.planetpeer.de
Is the MUTE network going to die?
« on: March 09, 2007, 07:51:39 AM »
I noticed that it seems at least for me impossible to connect to the MUTE network due to lack of active MUTE nodes. Aware of the fact that only 5 out of the former 13 MUTE web caches are still functional I am unable to connect to the network. Am I the only one who is experiencing this problem or does anyone else have this too? 

Cheers,
Markus

Offline Motorcycleboy

• View Profile
Re: Is the MUTE network going to die?
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2008, 06:56:01 AM »
I am a newbie so I don't really understand what is supposed to be going on, but having installed Mute 0.5.1 I am baffled by the apparant lack of activity on the network.  Judging by the GUI the program appears to be dead, but the monitor for Filsclab firewall reveals that it is attempting to connect to a limited range of IPs over and over again.  This is what is shown in the log file:

L3 | Thu Jul 10 08:29:15 2008 (157 ms) | ConnectionMaintainer | Failed to get hosts from web cache.
L4 | Thu Jul 10 08:29:20 2008 (164 ms) | ConnectionMaintainer | Trying to add a new connection.
L4 | Thu Jul 10 08:29:20 2008 (164 ms) | ConnectionMaintainer | Adding a connection failed.
L4 | Thu Jul 10 08:29:20 2008 (164 ms) | ConnectionMaintainer | Found no hosts to connect to.
L4 | Thu Jul 10 08:29:20 2008 (164 ms) | ConnectionMaintainer | Trying to fetch more hosts from web caches.

I am using Filsclab Pro and I have made a rule for all ports to accept incomming and outgoing traffic under all protocols.