Author Topic: Limiting Traffic?  (Read 4495 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Encrypt

  • Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Limiting Traffic?
« on: June 01, 2004, 07:35:06 AM »
I guess the incoming and outgoing traffic can be limited with the Inbound Limit and Outbound Limit options, but I don't understand the messages/second format.  Is this kilobits a second?  Kilobytes?

Offline Nemo

  • Global Moderator
  • Elite
  • *****
  • Posts: 1303
  • Karma: +27/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Limiting Traffic?
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2004, 07:47:14 PM »
Quote from: Encrypt
I guess the incoming and outgoing traffic can be limited with the Inbound Limit and Outbound Limit options, but I don't understand the messages/second format.  Is this kilobits a second?  Kilobytes?

AFAIK MUTE uses 20kB packets (=messages) in the network, but I'm not shure. Can you try it and post your results?
Currently I don't run MUTE, because the Freenet node (with Frost) uses all PC ressources... :-(

Greetings,
Nemo.

Offline Nemo

  • Global Moderator
  • Elite
  • *****
  • Posts: 1303
  • Karma: +27/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Limiting Traffic?
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2004, 08:01:48 PM »
Quote from: Encrypt
I guess the incoming and outgoing traffic can be limited with the Inbound Limit and Outbound Limit options, but I don't understand the messages/second format.  Is this kilobits a second?  Kilobytes?

Another possibility:
http://www.netlimiter.com/

This bandwidth limiter seems to be more flexible than the up-/download limits of MUTE.

I often hear that Netlimiter works very well. (I mostly use Linux; Netlimiter works only on Windows)

Greetings,
Nemo.

Offline Encrypt

  • Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Limiting Traffic?
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2004, 05:31:28 AM »
Very interesting, Captain.  I shall have a look.  Thanks for the info.

Offline Encrypt

  • Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Limiting Traffic?
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2004, 12:37:15 AM »
My first attempt to limit outgoing traffic was to set Outbound Messages/Second to .5.  This didn't work very well at all, I wasn't able to stay connected to any hosts.

My assumption was as stated above each message = 20 kB, which is 160 kb.  Given my upstream of 160 kb/s, I tried setting the value to .5, and if my math is right that = 80 kb/s.  But the traffic choked off to nearly nothing.

MUTE should be alright with 80 kb/s.  So the 20 kB per message assumption might be wrong.  [Mad Hare]That's logic![/Mad Hare] ;)

Back to the drawing board...

Offline Encrypt

  • Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Limiting Traffic?
« Reply #5 on: June 04, 2004, 01:37:32 AM »
My new setting didn't work.  It choked off traffic again.  Oh, well.  It's not of great importance.  I'll play around with it some more and see what, if anything, works (welcome to beta software, right?  Well, I've been known to run beta motherboard drivers ;) ).

Offline jrocnuck

  • Regular
  • **
  • Posts: 85
  • Karma: +6/-0
  • MUTE MFC Developer
    • View Profile
traffic limiting...etc..
« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2004, 02:18:35 AM »
I think your math may be off..

if you are limiting messages to 0.5 messages / second the math is as follows:


20 kb                 0.5 messages        
_____           *   ____________ = 10kb/sec
message                 second



not sure if the ASCII crap works out, but it is:

20kb/msg * 0.5msg/second = 10kb/sec
-peace out...

keep it real,
JROC...