Author Topic: List of MUTE web caches  (Read 50248 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

joop

  • Guest
one more WebCache
« Reply #15 on: September 21, 2004, 05:06:58 PM »
There is one more WebCache thanks to m2k1.

http://gwebcache.m2k1.net/mcache.php

Add it to your webHostCaches.ini

Offline m2k1

  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
List of MUTE web caches
« Reply #16 on: September 24, 2004, 12:09:37 PM »
Would it make sense to set up more than one cache on my host, just like you did? (I guess the answer is yes ;))


m2k1

Offline Markus

  • Administrator
  • Elite
  • *****
  • Posts: 5740
  • Karma: +25/-8
    • View Profile
    • http://www.planetpeer.de
webHostCaches.ini update
« Reply #17 on: September 24, 2004, 10:29:52 PM »
I have updated the hosted webHostCaches.ini. Please find below the most recent file content:

[code:1]http://www.mute.dds.nl/Mcache1/mcache.php
http://carneboy.no-ip.com/~crendon/mcache/
http://www.overmind.ws/mute/mcache.php
http://gwebcache.m2k1.net/mcache.php
http://members.lycos.nl/mwebcache/mcache.php[/code:1]

Please notify me if a cache is missing.


Cheers,
Markus

joop

  • Guest
List of MUTE web caches
« Reply #18 on: September 25, 2004, 04:21:56 PM »
Quote from: m2k1
Would it make sense to set up more than one cache on my host, just like you did?
m2k1


The answer is a simple no.   :shock:


It is useless running more than one cache, for a specific network, at one host .

1. If the cache host fails all caches you are running are down.  :(
2. A gnutella cache can attract a lot of traffic. Trafic can get as much as 5 GB a month when it has become popular (this will take a few months). Running more caches means more traffic for that host.

But if you want to run an other cache, the best thing to do is to run a gnutella cache. Then you will be supporting that network to.

 :-s Why am I running more than one cache?
Mcache1, is the main cache for MUTE_net. This means this cache must always work so clients can hook-up to MUTE_net.
Mcache2, I use for beta testing new caches.
For alpha tests  ](*,) I use a complete different account.

Offline m2k1

  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
List of MUTE web caches
« Reply #19 on: September 26, 2004, 10:37:03 AM »
Bedankt!  :P

m2k1

Offline Emeo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
List of MUTE web caches
« Reply #20 on: October 07, 2004, 11:46:00 AM »
Ok, here is another MWebcache: http://nodes.dyndns.org/mcache.php
I set up that Webcache yesterday, so the lists are still a little bit empty. But at least it seems to operate as it should.  :)

Offline Markus

  • Administrator
  • Elite
  • *****
  • Posts: 5740
  • Karma: +25/-8
    • View Profile
    • http://www.planetpeer.de
List of MUTE web caches
« Reply #21 on: October 07, 2004, 01:12:46 PM »
@Emeo: Thanks for the cache 8)


Cheers,
Markus

Offline m2k1

  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
List of MUTE web caches
« Reply #22 on: October 17, 2004, 12:40:56 AM »
For those who fear the traffic: My total traffic in the month october so far is 91MB  :roll:  :?:
What you waitin for? ;)

EDIT:
My hoster did cancel the subdomain yesterday due to an "unusual high amount of demands"

WTF?


m2k1

Offline Emeo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
List of MUTE web caches
« Reply #23 on: November 16, 2004, 10:17:04 PM »
I have temporarilly stopped my cache today on my own. :/ The bandwidth is really no problem, but there are thousands of users of other Gwebcache 1 compatible software (Gnutella, Morpheus, ...) who also try to use my cache. Because of that I have right now more then one connection attempt per second, while there is only one valid request per minute...  :x The current amount of connection attempts also seems to slowdown my router or my connection, at least everything gets slower and slower, until only a restart of the router and a reconnect helps...  :? Because of that I have now removed the script, until I have fixed these problems. (If that is possible... :/ ) I bet that this high connection churn is also the reason for cancelling your domain m2k1...
It would really help, if Mute would use a not Gwebcache 1 compatible cache system (Actually Mute does not use the Gnutella 1 network, so I would assume, that it also really should not use the normal GWebcache 1 protocol.), so that the caches are not flooded with senseless requests from other clients. (Perhaps using the GWebcache 2 protocol with the net parameter would also be ok, but I think the same as now would happen.)
Anyway, since there are at least 4 caches left, which should have no problems with the current request amount at least, I think it's no real problem if I take my cache down for some time. If there is a real need for a cache again, I will start it again, despite the fact that I probably won't be able to solve the connection amount problem...

Offline m2k1

  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
List of MUTE web caches
« Reply #24 on: December 07, 2004, 03:11:55 PM »
Please delete the address of my cache from your files... My hoster kicked me  :shock:  :?  :roll:


m2k1

joop

  • Guest
List of MUTE web caches
« Reply #25 on: December 07, 2004, 06:50:49 PM »
Quote from: m2k1
Please delete the address of my cache from your files... My hoster kicked me  :shock:  :?  :roll:


m2k1


I have removed your cache from the pages in the Mute Wiki.  :cry:

Have you any idea why they kicked you :evil:

Offline Evil-Dragon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Planet Peer Community
    • View Profile
Re: List of MUTE web caches
« Reply #26 on: December 28, 2004, 01:11:44 PM »
Another MWebCache installed:

http://mutecache.gotdns.org/mcache.php

Lets hope my ISP doesn't get too p**sed! :D

Regards
Evil-Dragon

joop

  • Guest
Re: List of MUTE web caches
« Reply #27 on: December 28, 2004, 04:39:58 PM »
Evil-Dragon thanks for your cache.  8)

I have added your cache to the pages in the Mute Wiki.  :D

Don't give up if the hit count is still low on the next couple of weeks.  :-\
It can take a while before your cache is discovered and will be used by the MUTE-NET clients.  ;D


Offline Markus

  • Administrator
  • Elite
  • *****
  • Posts: 5740
  • Karma: +25/-8
    • View Profile
    • http://www.planetpeer.de
Re: List of MUTE web caches
« Reply #28 on: December 28, 2004, 09:23:28 PM »
@Evil-Dragon:

Thank you for providing a MUTE cache. I have updated the SNU web host caches and added your cache.




Cheers,
Markus

Offline Emeo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: List of MUTE web caches
« Reply #29 on: December 29, 2004, 07:58:10 PM »
Ok, I installed a Linux router and because that router has no problems with the connection amount, which the Gwebcache causes (currently ~2 connections per second), and thus does not slow down my whole internet connection, my cache (http://nodes.dyndns.org/mcache.php), is up again. :) I think, that it was never removed from the list of nodes for some reason, but if it was, then you can add it back.